Congress
alt

CITY ATTRACTIONS

1. MONUMENT TO THE RED GUARDS SOLDIER

The figure of soldier was established on the hill in the 1970s in honor of the liberation of Stavropol from the white guards during the Civil war. The seven-meter monument is one of the most recognizable symbols of Stavropol. It’s a popular place for meetings, visits, walks, excursions. There is a square in front of the monument and an observation deck behind it, from where the North – Western part of the city is visible.



2. THE PART OF FORTRESS WALL

Stavropol was founded in the XVIII century as a defensive fortress, which later was called "the gates of the Caucasus". Only the remains of stone fortifications have survived to this day. In the 1970s"The Hoper tent"monument was erected next to it. It is made in the form of a marching tent on a pedestal. On the side faces of the monument there are plates with a plan of the Stavropol fortress and inside there is a symbolic key to the city.


3. ALEKSANDROVSKAYA SQUARE

It is the one of the central and busiest city squares that got it name in the middle of the XIX century in honor of Emperor Alexander II, who made a visit to Stavropol. The second name of the place is Angel square because In the middle of the square there is a stele with the figure of the guardian angel of the city. There are a lot of restaurants, offices and shopsaround the squarethat attract lovers of shopping and hiking.



4. MEMORIAL OF ETERNAL GLORY

The memorial was opened in 1967 at the foot of the Fortress mountain. It is located on the site of the mass grave of soldiers who died during the battles for the liberation of Stavropol during the Second World War. The monument is a monolithic wall with the severe faces of two soldiers and a woman symbolizing the Motherland carved on it. Before the bas-reliefs on the granite pedestal there is the Eternal flame.


5. STAVROPOL MUSEUM OF LOCAL LORE

The Museum collection is located on the territory of the merchant’s rows of the XIX century. The institution was founded in 1905, for some time it was the only Museum in the North Caucasus. During the Second World War and the occupationit continued to work despite the fact that its exhibition was badly damaged. Now the funds contain more than 300 thousand exhibits which are formed into natural, ethnographic and historical collections.



6. GRECHISHKIN’S ART GALLERY

The art gallery is located in the building of the former mosque in the central part of Stavropol. Its collection consists mainly of works by the painter P. M. Grechishkin, who gave to the city more than 160 of his paintingsafter the personal exhibitionin 1987. Also paintings by other artists are exhibitedin the gallery –about 500 objects. Among them there are interesting works of young Stavropol artists.


7. PARSHIN ART GALLERY

It is a private museum of modern art and it is also a place with a stylish design. It is adapted for the organization of exhibitions of various formats and positions itself as a special creative space. On its territory there are not only the private viewings, but also theater performances, concerts and parties "for the elite." Inside there is an atmosphere of the trendy artistic saloon.



8. REGIONAL MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS

Museum collections are located in a stone mansion of the late XIX – early XX centuries. The gallery has the richest fund of art works in the North Caucasus. In its halls you can admire the works of Levitan, Vasnetsov, BrullovKuindzhi, Aivazovsky. Also you have to pay attention to the Department of arts and crafts, which contains folk art and modern art objects.


9. VICTORY PARK

It is the main park of the city, located in the South-Western area, with typical for such places attractions, cafes, sports grounds. There is also a horse riding club and a water park on its territory. In the center there is the main alley decorated with "live" sculptures made of greenery and flowers, flower beds, lawns. In the eveningsthere are music and lighting. The Park is quite crowded on weekends and on holidays.



10. THE DRAMA THEATRE NAMED AFTER MIKHAIL LERMONTOV

It is the only dramatic scene in Stavropol (and the first in the North Caucasus) which was founded in the middle of the XIX century. Since 1910, the performances took place in a building built at the expense of local merchants. In 1964the troop moved to a modern building, and the old one became a home for Philharmonic hall. The stage plays a huge role in the cultural life of the city. On the playbill there are always classical productions of Russian and foreign playwrights.

alt

ДОСТОПРИМЕЧАТЕЛЬНОСТИ ГОРОДА:

1. ПАМЯТНИК СОЛДАТУ-КРАСНОГВАРДЕЙЦУ

Фигура «Буденновца» была установлена на Крепостной горке в 1970-х годах в честь освобождения Ставрополя от белогвардейцев во время Гражданской войны. Семиметровый монумент является одним из узнаваемых символов Ставрополя – это популярное место встреч, свиданий, прогулок, экскурсий. Перед памятником располагается площадь, позади – смотровая площадка, откуда виден Северо-Западный район города.



2. «ХОПЕРСКАЯ ПАЛАТКА» И ЧАСТЬ КРЕПОСТНОЙ СТЕНЫ

Ставрополь был заложен в XVIII веке как оборонительная крепость, которая позже получила название «ворота Кавказа». До наших дней дошли лишь остатки каменных фортификационных сооружений. Рядом с участком сохранившейся крепостной стены в 1970-х годах поставили памятник «Хоперская палатка», выполненный в виде походного шатра на постаменте. На боковых гранях монумента находятся плиты с планом Ставропольской крепости, внутри лежит символический ключ от города.


3. АЛЕКСАНДРОВСКАЯ ПЛОЩАДЬ

Одна из центральных и самых оживленных городских площадей, получившая имя в середине XIX столетия в честь императора Александра II, который почтил своим визитом Ставрополь. Второе название места – площадь Ангела. Посередине установлена стела с фигурой ангела-хранителя города, вокруг располагаются рестораны, офисы и магазины, что привлекает сюда любителей шоппинга и пеших прогулок.



4. МЕМОРИАЛ «ОГОНЬ ВЕЧНОЙ СЛАВЫ»

Мемориал был открыт в 1967 году у подножья Крепостной горы. Он находится на месте братской могилы солдат, которые погибли во время боев за освобождение Ставрополя в период ВОВ. Памятник представляет собой монолитную стену с высеченными на ней суровыми ликами двух солдат и женщины, символизирующей Родину-мать. Перед барельефами на гранитном постаменте находится Вечный огонь.


5. СТАВРОПОЛЬСКИЙ КРАЕВЕДЧЕСКИЙ МУЗЕЙ

Музейная коллекция размещается на территории бывших торговых рядов XIX столетия. Учреждение основали в 1905 году, какое-то время оно было единственным музеем на северном Кавказе. В период ВОВ и оккупации он продолжал работать, несмотря на то, что его экспозиция сильно пострадала. На сегодняшний день в фондах хранится более 300 тысяч экспонатов, которые складываются в природные, этнографические и исторические коллекции.



6. КАРТИННАЯ ГАЛЕРЕЯ П. М. ГРЕЧИШКИНА

Художественная галерея находится в здании бывшей мечети в центральной части Ставрополя. Ее коллекция состоит преимущественно из работ живописца П. М. Гречишкина, который в 1987 году после окончания персональной выставки передал в дар городу более 160 своих полотен. Также в галерее выставляются картины других художников – всего около 500 экспонатов. Среди них есть интересные произведения молодых ставропольских мастеров.


7. АРТ-ГАЛЕРЕЯ «ПАРШИН»

Частный музей современного искусства и арт-площадка со стильно оформленным дизайном. Она приспособлена для организации выставок различного формата и позиционирует себя как особое творческое пространство. На ее территории проходят не только вернисажи, но также камерные театральные постановки, концерты и вечеринки «для избранных». Внутри царит атмосфера модного художественного салона.



8. КРАЕВОЙ МУЗЕЙ ИЗОБРАЗИТЕЛЬНЫХ ИСКУССТВ

Музейные коллекции находятся в каменном особняке конца XIX – начала XX веков. Галерея обладает самым богатым фондом художественных произведений на Северном Кавказе. В ее залах можно полюбоваться на работы Левитана, Васнецова, Брюллова Куинджи, Айвазовского. Также внимания заслуживает отдел декоративно-прикладного искусства, где собраны изделия народного творчества и современные арт-объекты.


9. ПАРК ПОБЕДЫ

Главный парк города, расположенный в Юго-Западном районе, с типичными для такого места аттракционами, кафе, спортивными площадками. Также здесь работают конный клуб и аквапарк. В центре проходит главная аллея, оформленная «живыми» скульптурами из зелени и цветов, клумбами, газонами. По вечерам здесь играет музыка и включается подсветка. В парке бывает довольно многолюдно по выходным и на праздниках.



10. ТЕАТР ДРАМЫ ИМЕНИ М. Ю. ЛЕРМОНТОВА

Единственная драматическая сцена Ставрополя (и самая первая на Северном Кавказе), основанная в середине XIX столетия. С 1910 года спектакли проходили в здании, возведенном на средства местных купцов. С 1964 года труппа переехала в современное здание, а в старом разметили филармонию. Сцена играет огромную роль в культурной жизни города. В афише всегда присутствуют классические постановки русских и зарубежных драматургов.